Gorgeous Geology Photos

April 5, 2011

I really like geology. (I also collect rocks. When one has moved a lot, this is problematic. But I can’t bear to get rid of my favorites)

I took quite a few courses in geology. I recall researching a paper on the apparent association of earthquakes and lunar cycles which my prof pooh-poohed.  It made sense to me if only because the moon affects groundwater, which in turn could affect the friction levels in faults. At least, that was my nebulous hypothesis. 

The lunar influence is now recognized as a negligible but real factor. (So there, Prof. Dude!)

I came across these collections of images. Absolutely breath-taking. If only my internet connection was being cooperative tonight. But then, with the typical perversity of human nature, when I’ve waited for so long for a picture to load, I spend a lot more time looking at it. And they’re all well worth that extra attention.

Winners of a Geology Photo Contest  

Rock Formations that look like people

The next three are all as seen from space:

Impact Craters

Sand Dunes

Glaciers

Volcanoes

Leave a Reply

