Money Talks Where Reason Fails

February 2, 2011

I’ve spent the last few days wrestling with my writing. I keep getting sidelined into comments about how willful, arrogant ignorance fostered by big money (see Texas state board of education and the tea party) is destroying our society and our planet. I want to write light, cheerful stories – optimistic but laced with hints of ideas. I guess I need to exorcise a few things before I can do that without *extensive* editing, cutting, re-editing, more cutting…. after a year or more of radical surgery my first completed novel has, I think, successfully struck that balance.

One of the things I keep coming back to is that humans need to be shown, powerfully, that something is in their interest, and money is a big persuader. Hence, I was ironically amused to read this blog today:  http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/badastronomy/2011/02/02/a-real-solution-to-antivax-nonsense-higher-insurance-premiums/

It amazes me that people who are educated seem to be the most likely to fall for this autism-fraud – they are the ones I would expect to do the research. To put whole communities at risk because you won’t check your facts? Not good.

2 Responses to “Money Talks Where Reason Fails”

  1. Lois Hoffman Says:

    Thanks for the post. I find it interesting that educated people often are swayed by all kinds of illogical reasoning. Fear is a very powerful tool.


  2. [...] who do not vaccinate should be held accountable.  See earlier post:  http://thinklovesurvive.wordpress.com/2011/02/02/money-talks-where-reason-fails/ GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

